Open Doors for Our Daughters

Published October 27, 2014 by ashawnomy

I know how cliched this may sound at this point, but a recent blog post I read brought it up again.  They mentioned that they had found a Lego set that included 3 female scientists.  I thought how cool this was, and why this doesn’t “just happen”.  I know plenty of female scientists in real life, and know that many of them receive their due accolades (many, of course, still do not).

I love science and nature and the outdoors.  I am raising my children to love the same.  I have a son and a daughter and I try not to treat them differently when it comes to what they like and what they want to do.  Of course, my three year old daughter will be a princess for Halloween this year (she has also been an owl and a dinosaur).  My son will don yet another ninja incarnation.

It is VERY hard to find a Lego set for a girl that doesn’t involve ice cream or a beauty salon.  When I heard about this set with three female scientists, I immediately went to Amazon to see if I could find one.  I found it.  It was $90.  Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t that far off of what a normal set costs, but this is the only one I have found that shows women doing something great for humanity.

When doing a search for Lego females, here is what I found, not including the set we’ve been talking about:  a woman warrior, a viking woman, numerous Wonder Woman’s, cave woman, numerous Cat Woman’s, a Dino Tracker (who has a crossbow and looks mad), etc.  I think you get my point.

To be fair, when doing a search for Lego scientists, not a whole lot pops up, either.  But a trip to the Lego aisle proves it is a male dominated world.

I just want her to know about Jocelyn Bell (discovered pulsars), Cecila Payne (figured out that stars were made primarily of Hydrogen), or Annie Jump Cannon (helped classify stars according to spectra).  She can do whatever she wants, I just want her to know that every door is open and every star reachable.

Leave a Reply

